Yelp Facebook LinkedIn YouTube Twitter Instagram

Classes available in-person (strict social distancing) or live online with an extended free retake period. See details.

Student Testimonials

178 real testimonials... and counting! We get testimonials from our students all the time. They’re the honest writings from people like you, from students who have attended our classes.

“I have learned Python from fundamental to advanced topics here. Art and Tim are really good at teaching Python.”

Phoebe Wu Yaheng

Oct 6, 2020

“I always have fears to do coding. My friend recommended this "Python Immersive" one-week camp. The instructor, Thalo, is great at explaining the concepts. Especially, he is very patient and helpful. I strongly recommend this camp to those who want to learn Python coding from A to Z.”

Wenxia Zhu

Aug 8, 2020

“Taking the python immersive class with Tim was a great experience. I feel have strong foundation from which to keep learning and progress with the projects that interest me. So, if you want to get started coded and are waffling on a decision of which school to attend, pick this one. :)”

Jennie Sulik

Jul 7, 2020

“Stephen was an awesome instructor (even with the course being online). He appropriately paces the material and doesn't make you feel small for asking seemingly simple questions. I would definitely take this class again!”

Lauren P.

May 26, 2020

“This is an excellent class for an intro to python. Art is helpful and works with the students specific to everyone's experience and pace.”

Varun Sodhia

May 23, 2020

“I recommend this course to anyone looking to get into programming or those looking to sharpen their skills. I had zero experience with python before the course and the instructor was both patient enough to work with me yet still love the course flowing for the more advanced members.”

Jon C

May 23, 2020

“I took the intro to python and python immersive online class. I had a great instructor named Thalo. His teaching methods are really effective, and right to the point. He was extremely helpful with any questions or topics that you may have a hard time understanding. I would definitely recommend this class to anyone who is interested in learning python, whether as a beginner or an experienced coder.”

Tamzidul Matin

May 20, 2020

“I took this class online with Thalo. He is an excellent teacher and very patient and thorough. I learned more than I could have hoped and also saw a great example of what online teaching can be Highly recommend.”

Jessica Joiner

Apr 22, 2020

“I can't say enough about my experience with the Practical Programming instructors as well as the core curriculum in the Python Immersive & Python Programming for Data Science. These courses have been life changing to my current career and will be beneficial to any career I may have in the future. Thalo has been my instructor for both cohorts. Not only is he exceptionally knowledgeable but he is incredibly patient when going through the material-it's not easy but he makes it palatable, dare I say fun. Thalo truly takes the time to work with you, even taking you through pseudocode if need be for the material to sink in. I highly recommend Practical Programming courses to anyone that works with data or looking for a career change. These cohorts will get you to where you need to be.”

Lisa Semplinski

Apr 22, 2020

“Well worth the money. The course was challenging and relevant, and I will definitely consider taking more courses at Practical Programming. Art does a great job meeting everyone at their level and making sure that everyone feels challenged.”

M. Tibisay Salerno

Apr 20, 2020

“Python for Data Science Immersive is a great course for anyone trying to get started in Python, specifically in pandas and numpy. Art is a great instructor with a plethora of resources that remain available to you after the course is over. Highly recommend this course for anyone needing a crash course on Python.”

Tyler Taubenheim

Mar 27, 2020

“Amazing classes at this place. Incredible price and quality.”

Philip Odelfelt

Mar 24, 2020

“Very instructive course. Definitely worthwhile if you are trying to learn Python. The teacher was engaging and was able to cater to different levels of expertise among the attendees.”

Anonymous

Mar 21, 2020

“Art is great. Very generous with time and knowledge and truly helpful. Great if you have no programming knowledge or if you're a more advanced student. The course is thorough and applies exercises to real-life examples. Will take again and highly recommend!”

Adriana Rodriguez

Mar 15, 2020

“I did the week-long Python for Data Science Immersive Bootcamp in Chicago. The course is structured as a small-group lab, so it's easy to stay engaged and you get a lot of hands-on experience coding. The instructor, Thalo, was an exceptional teacher and was very adaptive to the class. We got to spend time working on problems relevant for our jobs. Highly recommend!”

Mike V.

Mar 6, 2020

“I did the week-long Python for Data Science Immersive Bootcamp in Chicago. The course is structured as a small-group lab, so it's easy to stay engaged and you get a lot of hands-on experience coding. The instructor, Thalo, was an exceptional teacher and was very adaptive to the class. We got to spend time working on problems relevant for our jobs. Highly recommend! ”

Mike Vitale

Mar 5, 2020

“I started learning python on an online platform almost a year ago and felt that I had completely players like plateaued. I loved the Python immersive course and was able to learn much more in a week than I had on my own over the span of around 8 months. I now I feel fully confident in my ability to continue my python learning independently and I know where to turn when I'm ready to enroll in my next programming course.”

Hannah C.

Mar 1, 2020

“I would highly recommend this course to anyone who is looking to gain some knowledge with Python. Thalo(course instructor) is the man! He explains things really well and shows great examples throughout his explanation. Again I highly recommend it.”

Erick C.

Feb 29, 2020

“I participated in the weeklong intro to Python course and it was great! the instructor, Thalo, is a great teacher and very patient/diligent in helping you. I would definitely recommend this course (and Practical Programming in general) to any beginner or novice interested in learning how to program.”

Aidan Garton

Feb 24, 2020

“Really enjoyed the class! Art has a ton of experience in teaching the basics of python to people who have no previous coding experience. The class format is great - we start with lectures and go right into practice problems to use what we just learned. 100% would recommended!”

Helen Li

Feb 17, 2020

“This class was great. The right blend of teaching and practicing what we learn. Thalo was a great instructor that balanced giving us the knowledge and letting us think our way through the problems. Also, he was there to rescue us when we got in over our head.”

David Knutson

Feb 17, 2020

“Art was a good instructor. The introductory Python course was well organized and Art used examples that were easy to understand. Art was able to customize the class to fit our company's specific needs.”

Freddy L.

Team Manager

Haver Analytics

Feb 3, 2020

“Great Class. Very comprehensive good starting point for python. Art was great at explaining concepts and helping work through issues.”

Rohan Tawde

Feb 3, 2020

“Great learning experience! Thalo Menninga was excellent and very hands-on and very knowledgeable. The approach of teaching was very nice and the course content was also designed very professional. Class size is also smaller and that makes more focused learning. Every day, I enjoyed learning new things and especially daily recap in the morning. If you want to learn Python I'd highly recommend this course and instructor! ”

Sandip Patel

Jan 28, 2020

“Fairly intensive class, covers a whole bunch of material in a very efficient manner. I was familiar with programming logic from college (granted it was a decade ago) but I think I would have found it a bit fast if I was starting from scratch. If you are willing to work hard, this is a great class, Art does a good job.”

Simran Bhatia

Jan 13, 2020

“Good course for beginners. They keep the class sizes small, which was convenient because the instructor was able to tweak the class to fit more of what I was hoping to get out of it. The location is great with endless food options for lunch and there’s tons of water in the room for when the students get thirsty.”

Kelly Schmitz

Jan 10, 2020

“I did the python immersive course with Art and Tim, and I had a great time! The class size is designed to be intimate so you get a lot of attention and help from the instructors and they can adjust more closely to your needs. Both of them are very patient and clear in answering students questions, and their debugging skills are fantastic :) I think it is a great course for someone who wants to start learning python and learn some solid basic python or for someone who had some programming experience and want to consolidate their knowledge and refresh their memory. They also have some other related courses that specialize in different areas, looking forward to joining when I have some time in the future! Thank you Art & Tim!”

Wai Ching Leung

Jan 6, 2020

“Practical Programming designed a 9-session, in-house training course that benefitted our novice and more advanced Python programmers alike. The training materials were clear and well-prepared, and the applied exercises served to reinforce important concepts. Art was friendly, patient, and readily available to provide support both during and between each training session. I highly recommend Practical Programming if you are seeking accessible and comprehensive Python training for your team”

Lesli S. Ott

Director of Episode Development Analytics

Remedy Partners

Dec 10, 2019

“I've taken several classes here. All of the instructors have been great, and the material and its presentation is very comprehensive. So is their style of teaching; it is very easy for me to retain what I've learned between and after classes. It was difficult for me to find the homework sometimes, but I managed.”

Macy N.

Dec 8, 2019

“This class had a great pace, good detail, and gave very practical and usable knowledge and skill. The instructor, Tim was attentive to all in the class and provided the curriculum to the class at the right pace. I plan to take the next level of this course and the machine learning class too.”

Ed F.

Dec 7, 2019

“Excellent for those who want to get into Python quickly.”

Joseph Wargel

Dec 7, 2019

“Very informative and clear to the point. Art is a very insightful instructor. Recommended”

Luis Munoz Vilchez

Nov 26, 2019

“Great class. Great instructor perfect for beginners.”

Ana G.

Nov 24, 2019

“I loved the class a lot because of the fact that it was a week and able to compress all that information into it. I also liked the 10AM start, not too early. The 5pm end was a little late for my particular week that week, since I had things to do for about 3 days of the week and had to leave early. However, any week-long class will present that problem with trying to fit errands before or after the class. The teacher was very fast and he could type as fast as he could talk. I tried to keep up and coded along with him as he presented, which really helped with the hands on and understanding being able to actually see it run in front of me. This type of hands on also keeps me engaged versus just sitting there watching someone lecture. Sometimes I couldn't quite keep up, but all is good, I still got the main points and lots of information in a short time. The exercises were also good practice, but with me, it takes time and experience to be able to rattle off code with intuitive understanding, so I'm not worried about that yet, since with practice, I know it becomes second nature. Overall, I like the way Practical Programming teaches, and I'm thinking of taking more classes from there.”

David G.

Nov 24, 2019

“It is a good way to start learn Python and build your career.”

Nurik Osmon

Nov 23, 2019

“Matt’s material was thorough and he took the time to make sure everyone was fully grasping the material”

Anonymous

Nov 21, 2019

“Awesome class! The instructor is very patient and helping you debug all kinds of problems and answering all kinds of questions.”

Ping Feng

Nov 21, 2019

“Always enjoy taking a class with Art. He is knowledgeable and on top of his game. His class is quick paced but easy to follow... is patient with questions.”

Anonymous

Nov 15, 2019

“Good intro to python. Gives a nice solid toolkit that you can use to do further exploration. It's helpful to have a person to explain some basic things and put an eye on your code at the start -- helps save frustration debugging. :) Fairly reasonably priced and interesting out of class exercises. Would recommend to those looking for an easy (non-boot camp) intro.”

Ryan Nelson

Nov 8, 2019

“I took this course because I want to get into software development. After a few months of self-taught, I had a hard time to find my progression. This course definitely helps me a lot. My instructor is Stephen Peralta. Not only he manages to cover all the most important aspects of JavaScript, HTML, and CSS, he is also extremely patient and willing to carefully explain until you fully understand. His explanation is very easy to understand even for someone who never touches coding before like me. If you want to start learning to code and don't know where to start. This is the perfect place to go to.”

Eric Peng

Nov 8, 2019

“Well done class... instructor is very calm and patience. Explains things well and teaches at a good pace for comprehension”

Thomas H.

Oct 26, 2019

“I learned more than I expected in this Python Data Science class. Although I do not have much background except from some SQL query in GIS environment, now I am confident to explore more into the scripting and customization of applications more than what I used to be.”

Cung Thang

UNOPS

Oct 14, 2019

“Introduction to Python was very comprehensive and Art was a great instructor. Would recommend to those just starting out.”

David Ritt

Oct 14, 2019

“Art is a great teacher. Highly recommend.”

Anonymous

Oct 10, 2019

“Excellent experience. I took the JavaScript Immersive with Stephen. Great class for those interested in receiving a comprehensive primer on JavaScript web development. The instructor was fully knowledgeable and adaptive to the needs of the students. Highly recommend!”

Don Siddell

Oct 8, 2019

“Practical Programming workshops are lucrative. Especially if you are eager to learn coding from scratch. I signed up for python for data science weekend classes because I work full-time. The classes are more like 1 on 1 sessions and the instructors are super helpful. You actually start with a basic approach to code simple python functions and build upon that towards more/fairly complex coding especially required to manipulate data using Numpy and Pandas in Python. The instructors have different exercise which gives you a clear idea about your skills and if you have any confusion just ask for it. The best thing that it has a very active slack workspace which is available throughout the week. As an alumni, I still benefit from this small community on slack which is just like stack overflow but way much much faster in replies. I would highly recommend this workshop.”

Jahanzaib Adil

Oct 6, 2019

“Great learning experience! My instructor Thalo Menninga was really fantastic and helped me learn at my own pace without directly providing the answers or solutions to the problems in class. Very hands-on approach as I would be asked to write a few programs in Python based on what new concept we learned in the classroom. Every day would start as a review of all previous concepts along with programming assignments for the review. Thalo is very knowledgeable in Python and in other languages. Thalo even helped provide instruction on some code used in my employer! If you want to learn Python I'd highly recommend this course and instructor!”

Tom Pascente

Oct 4, 2019

“Great class!! Art is super helpful and attentive to every question.”

Hasan Hachem

Oct 2, 2019

“Wonderful teacher, in depth class! I learned way more than I expected would be possible in just 3 hours. Highly recommend!”

Morgan M.

Oct 2, 2019

“Art teaches Python in a very understandable way. Everyone left the introductory class with a good grasp of the fundamentals.”

Ray Shah

Sep 25, 2019

“Tim was thorough and read the class very well to determine pace.”

Ryan von Ahn

Sep 18, 2019

“If you've never programmed and you're looking for a school with classes that will get you up to speed quickly in a way that's easy to follow and understand, helping you to quickly build the fundamentals, this is the school to do that.”

Kelly Grove

Sep 15, 2019

“These weren’t the days. It had gotten rescheduled a couple of times. I’ve taken only one session and I loved it. I instructor was very knowledgeable and he was good at teaching. I’m looking forward to the next two classes.”

Erline R.

Sep 15, 2019

“I took Introduction to Python and Web Scrapping with Art and the class was great! I learned a lot and can't wait to continue my Python education.”

Bryndee Carlson

Sep 13, 2019

“Art is the best programming instructor I've had. He keeps all the materials interesting and grounded by constantly discussing the practical application. The python course I took had a very good flow; although it was very fast-paced, never at any point did I find it confusing/illogical. Art also offers a ton of related materials, help and feedback even after the course is over. Would definitely come back for more classes! ”

Alicee D

Sep 5, 2019

“It is very helpful for people looking to advance in their career. And the instructor is very patient and helpful.”

Coco Zhang

Sep 5, 2019

“Took Intro to Python and Web Scraping and with Art. I am pretty bad at python but Art is sooo patient and is willing to go over and over examples without losing his patience. If you practiced you would be amazing after this class!”

Kate Ingram

Aug 28, 2019

“Great class! I highly recommend the Python immersive to anyone who wants to learn about programming and who has zero experience. Tim is a great instructor and even when I felt overwhelmed, the class was structured so that it was easy for you to get back on track with the other students.”

Christopher Sisti

Aug 21, 2019

“Excellent class. This class is well worth the investment in a small class, interactive setting. It taught me Python's building blocks from datatypes, data structures, numpy, dataframe, and matplotlib. The teacher, Art, is very experienced and approachable. I highly recommend this class. ”

Carlos Huerta

Aug 6, 2019

“Art is gr8! Excellent place to learn python.”

Shahran Asim

Aug 1, 2019

“Great class. Very informative. Highly recommended!”

Anonymous

Jul 27, 2019

“Great school for learning programming.”

Michael Cohn-Geltner

Jul 26, 2019

“This will be my 4th class with Practical Programming. I've taken Python Immersive, Machine Learning Immersive, and Intro to SQL. I've had good experience at every class. Highly recommend instructors Art and Tim.”

Karen L

Jul 26, 2019

“The instructor was very knowledgeable and interactive. I really appreciated the way he made sure each student understood the concepts discussed that night!”

Tenise M.

Jul 11, 2019

“Overall very happy wit the course. The third class became very confusing and hard to keep up. The instructor tried to touch all the materials that perhaps was too much for one class.”

Anonymous

Jul 9, 2019

“I loved Art! He’s super patient and answers all questions! I recommend this class for all python beginners!! I had no knowledge of python prior to this class.”

Audrey T.

Jun 22, 2019

“pretty fun and informative. Very good teacher with a lot of knowledge about the topic.”

Tomas C.

Jun 12, 2019

“Very informative class, interesting exercises, very well structured!”

Anonymous

May 20, 2019

“I've really enjoyed this course. I've taken online courses but now I understand the fundamentals and can write my own scripts. A lot of personal attention. Small group.”

Max T.

May 20, 2019

“I'm an absolute beginner and felt completely comfortable in this class. Art was a patient teacher taking us through each lesson. I do wish he had time to show us how the programming we practiced is applied in the real world, i.e. what it looks like from an end-user perspective but I guess I'll just have to take another class!!”

Anonymous

Apr 19, 2019

“The instructor ‘Art’ taught well and he was very patient in clarifying each student’s doubts. I understood all concepts well. The class is meant for absolute beginners who have no prior programming experience.”

Runa S.

Apr 18, 2019

“Really enjoyed the class. Tim was knowledgeable and courteous. There is obviously a need to keep working on the concepts introduced to solidify your understanding, but that’s on you.”

Katya G.

Mar 23, 2019

“This class was great. The class sizes are small so Art can make sure everybody is on the same page. He even follows up after the class to see how our learning is going. The class is intense for sure and expect to have to work on this every night in between classes, but if you need some structure in your learning to get started in data science, this class is the perfect place!”

William H.

Mar 10, 2019

“Tim is a great instructor. He checks every student's work and patiently answers everyone's questions. A good intro class for those who want to get a foot in the door in coding.”

Anonymous

Mar 6, 2019

“Great class. Class size was small (4 people) so you get a lot of individual attention and Art made sure everyone was on the same page before moving through the material. Would recommend it for sure!”

Will

Feb 23, 2019

“I enjoyed this class, the instructor was engaging and truly cared if you were understanding the material. I think I will sign up for more!”

DANIELLE S.

Feb 13, 2019

“It was a really well-taught class with many practical examples... curious to learn more about python/ practice more because of the class.”

Maximilian K.

Feb 13, 2019

“Tim did an excellent job facilitating the class. Material was at a comfortable pace and easily digestible with meaningful learning reinforcements and assignments. Would take another class from this institution.”

Anonymous

Feb 8, 2019

“Excellent school and facility, extremely interesting course, good small class size. Art is very thorough, helpful and able to break down content in a way it is easily digestible by those in attendance. My only feedback might be to conduct a webinar, e-learning or similar ahead of time to prep all learners and introduce them to the software used since there are differences between the operating systems (Mac, Windows, Linux) and their individual processes that need to be accounted for throughout the material. For example, on Linux/Mac you might install from the terminal whereas on Windows you're more likely to use a gui installer, accessing Python on Windows Command Prompt is different than using the terminal etc.”

Anonymous

Feb 8, 2019

“Very good introductory Python course, recommended!”

Carlos N.

Jan 31, 2019

“I really liked the teacher and learned a lot. Plan to take another class soon.”

Anonymous

Jan 30, 2019

“I am definitely recommending this course to my coworkers!”

Hiram G.

Jan 13, 2019

“Great instructor! He made it easy to follow along and understand the concepts.”

Anonymous

Jan 8, 2019

“It was a great experience. I would recommend it to everyone.”

Esau R.

Dec 28, 2018

“Very good course if you want to get into the details of python, data analysis and machine learning concepts. Plenty of time to exercise and try out the concepts at your own pace. Tim is a great teacher who is able to explain complex concepts in a simple way.”

Stephanus F.

Dec 28, 2018

“I had such a great experience with Practical Programming School. I took one class and signing up for two more. It is great for coding as they explain step by step. Many classes you will be taking for coding, will require a lot of research and work on your own (which is fine and that's what all coding is all about). But, if you never majored or even tried to major in Computer Science, you will find it challenging. Tommy is a great teacher, being that he has a teaching background and knows how to teach and break it down for you, HELPS tremendously! Thank you Tommy so much, for making so many things clear, and thank you Practical Programming School! Will see you soon. ”

Yana

Oct 28, 2018

“This is quite an intensive course with a good value for money. The course is providing a strong foundation for those who would like to learn and develop their Python skills further. The lecturer is very student friendly and patient and is willing to help both during and after the completion of the course. I would recommend this course for anyone who is new to the language and is willing to cope with a fast pace of the program.”

Boris

Oct 28, 2018

“The Machine Learning immersive course is a fantastic class for anyone with some fundamental knowledge of Python looking to get into machine learning. The first 2 days of the class focus on Python revisions. On day 3, you start learning about pandas, numpy and matplotlib and get to practice by running a lot of models (both supervised and unsupervised). There is also some introduction to deep learning techniques (neural networks) though there won't be a ton of time to practice it, but at least you'll know what it is. Tim, the instructor is a fantastic teacher - he has a strong handle of the material and takes cues from his class: he will speed up or slow down when it's needed and always make sure everyone in his class is following along. If you're interested in machine learning and have some knowledge of Python, this is the class for you!”

Anonymous

Oct 19, 2018

“Great class! You really learn something that is hard to learn online.”

Hee Do P.

Oct 16, 2018

“The course was very interesting and also challenging for me as I am not a developer and just use some basic SQL requests. I have learned new things and more efficient way to manage data. it's given me new inspiration for my job. Thanks to Art.”

Anonymous

Oct 12, 2018

“It's intensive. But I love it. I learned a lot.”

Robert P.

Oct 12, 2018

“I learned more than I expected in this Python Data Science" class. Although I do not have much background except from some SQL query in GIS environment, now I am confident to explore more into the scripting and customization of applications more than what I used to be.”

Cung T.

Oct 12, 2018

“Art is great. If you need special attention in a class room he will take time out and help debug your program with you. This is my second course from them and if you need an introduction or a refresher this is great since it gives you significant exposure and interface within a very short time . Would be back for ML”

Ambooj T.

Oct 12, 2018

“Art is terrific and very patient. He knows his material and stops to be sure all are following along. I would highly recommend this class to people interested in learning Python from scratch.”

Pammela S.

Oct 4, 2018

“This class was taught by instructors Tim and Art, both of whom were extremely knowledgeable and tremendously helpful. The small class size made the hands-on learning very effective. It is a tough course that is very extensive, but I learned a lot! With no prior coding experience this was the best introduction to Python I could expect. 5 of 5!”

Sabbir M.

Oct 1, 2018

“The class was very hands on and useful in real life scenarios. Gave the basic tool to implement SQL on your personal computer and the basics to use it in a work scenario. Tommy was great at keeping the class engaged and also made the class fun.”

Matthew S.

Sep 24, 2018

“This was by far the most informative and well taught python class I've taken. Both Art and Tim went out of their way to make sure that everyone understood the material and took the time to address any and all questions. I would recommend this course to anyone who needs to understand python who may have little previous experience with it. Definitely the best value of any programming language course I have ever taken.”

Anonymous

Aug 29, 2018

“As a first step into programming, I was very happy with this class. I plan to take the 3 session program next.”

Anonymous

Aug 28, 2018

“I enrolled in the Introduction to Python course after noticing how many jobs are needing Python experience recently. I already had programming experience and a Computer Science degree but wanted to take a course to make learning a bit easier and to force myself to do it. Art is a great instructor and used many clear examples during the course. My particular class only had 3 students including myself and the 2 others were not tech savvy. Art was very good at handling their questions and keeping the pace of the class moving though I would imagine if the class was larger it would be more difficult with many people who didn't know some technical basics especially since it's only a 3 session course. I walked away with a solid foundation in Python though and I've been learning on my own as well and going into more advanced features beyond what was taught in the course. It's a good springboard to start learning Python. Art also provided potential job interview questions and that same week I actually encountered one of them in a real interview so he was right on the mark. You will benefit the most if you do work on your own between the classes and make use of the resources provided to you for self study.”

Anonymous

Aug 24, 2018

“Art Yudin is an excellent instructor and teaches a very well organized course in a very approachable, friendly manner. Further, he is very enthusiastic and goes above and beyond in helping his students. He kindly helped me troubleshoot various aspects of a dataset I have been working on for my own work, for which I am incredibly grateful. I would gladly take more Python course with him.”

Anonymous

Aug 18, 2018

“Great class! We covered a lot of material in a short amount of time. The challenges were fun, and I enjoyed working on them as a team with other classmates. I think the class would be even better if, in the morning, we went over all the solutions to the exercises from the night before. Because even if I didn't get to work on them at home, I can still benefit to see how they are solved. Since I have JavaScript programming background, it was easier for me to understand the concepts even though Art went over them kind of fast. Some other students had a harder time, but assistant teacher, Tim, would explain the concepts in a different way which helped. The class description should probably be updated since we didn't cover these topics: • Python's datetime module • Regular expressions • Writing to a File • Appending to a File • Selection sort • Merge sort (this we went over only because we had extra time) Overall, I had a great experience and would recommend it to anyone who is starting to learn Python!”

Joanne

Aug 11, 2018

“Instructors is very helpful, using a lot of real life examples and self help tool when we are on our own how to approach on solving problems.”

Anonymous

Aug 5, 2018

“I didn't expect to learn much in a 4 session Python course, but Art's teaching style was very fitting for the subject. As the Chinese proverb states: Tell me, I’ll forget. Show me, I’ll remember. Involve me, I’ll understand.”

James C.

Aug 5, 2018

“Great content, pace, rigor, and definitely hands-on instructor. I would recommend the course and instructor 100%. Kudos!!”

Anonymous

Aug 4, 2018

“Course gives great steps towards being knowledgeable in Python. Dependent upon doing independent work and reviewing at home, but taught me a lot in only 5 days.”

Rob S.

Jul 27, 2018

“Great class! I learned a lot!”

Anonymous

Jul 26, 2018

“This course was a great introduction to the various data types in Python and when to use them. The exercises were challenging but improve your understanding of the material. An ideal choice for someone who has some familiarity with programming but doesn't know Python.”

David S.

Jun 29, 2018

“Art was an excellent teacher, I learned so much in this course and even got to learn how to make my own web app and host it online!”

Steven W.

Jun 22, 2018

“Very good introduction to python and programming in general.”

Audun H.

May 18, 2018

“Tommy was super helpful and a great teacher. He was very accessible via email if I had any additional questions outside of class. I highly recommend this class for Python beginners.”

Emma Y.

May 11, 2018

“I have found practical programming courses very helpful. Art has been a great instructor and super helpful outside of class as well. After taking his 4 week Intro to Python (weekends) course, I decided to take Blockchain 101, Python for Web Scraping and will be staring my next course using Python for Machine Learning in a few weeks. I would recommend taking these courses in order to get you started on coding. Whether you just want to learn coding for fun or also want to learn it for application purposes (work or personal), these have been a great starter for me. Looking forward to taking more intensive courses with practical programming in the future.”

Rrok R.

Apr 27, 2018

“I really enjoyed it! Very informative.”

Anonymous

Apr 26, 2018

“I searched all over NYC to find a course in Python that was more hands on. This is a must attend course, if you want to really learn Python. The instructor, Art was patient and very knowledgeable. We covered a lot of topics and, at times, I was almost overwhelmed. But with Art's help, it all made sense. Not only am I comfortable with Python, but I also know Django and how to web scrape! The school, and Art, surpassed any of my expectations and the price is right. I couldn't be happier.”

Michael P.

Apr 20, 2018

“This is a informative python bootcamp with hands-on projects. We did two projects, one project solidified our skills on using functions, and the other project was about django, the most popular python framework for developers. Our instructor art is a python master and he walked us through all the building blocks you would need to start coding in Python. By the end of the bootcamp you will become much more proficient in python. I also really like the exercises, they are fun and challenging at the same time.”

Anonymous

Apr 20, 2018

“Excellent and enjoyable class! Art has a systematic method of teaching that allows for relevant tangents based on the interests of the class. We even spent an entire class on a project I had for work and from which the other students benefitted also. Art is great at focusing on the proper way to think (data types and data structures!) and the logic behind the code, as well as explaining all the concepts and syntax in a methodical fashion that builds well upon previous material. He is also 100% accessible outside of classroom hours for help/questions etc. I am continuing with many other Practical Programming classes. Highly recommend!”

Anonymous

Apr 11, 2018

“I was looking for a data science class I could take while having a full-time job. This course was great because all the classes happened on the weekends. I knew a basic python already, so picking up the concepts was easy. Art is a patient teacher that's happy to help you out with homework before class if you're stuck on a problem. I would definitely recommend it if you're looking to kickstart your learning of Numpy, Pandas, and Matplotlib.”

Kalle M.

Apr 5, 2018

“Terrific course with really useful information! Alex's explanations were clear and well-organized. Good mix of instruction and practice. I hope Alex designs a Part II to this course!”

Anonymous

Apr 4, 2018

“I had zero experience with SQL and Alex did an exceptional job at making sure I was understanding every single step!”

Jen S.

Mar 30, 2018

“I thought this was an excellent introduction to SQL. Alex's explanation of the concepts and the examples he used were easy to follow and made sense. It was two short classes, but I feel like I came away with a solid understanding of how SQL works. I recommend the class and Alex as a teacher.”

Anonymous

Mar 28, 2018

“If you are thinking about a career in analytics and data science or just fascinated by the endless possibilities of coding, Python for Data Science course from Practical Programming is a must. Art is an expert in Python programming. He always makes sure students clearly understand the topic and actively participate in discussions. He makes classes very interesting and always provides real world examples that make such a huge difference. I especially liked various projects we were working on during the classes. Projects helped me to solidify my newly acquired skills and apply those skills on real life meaningful projects. Data science is a fascinating field and recent report from glassdoor.com states that data scientist is the hottest job on a market for the third consecutive year with a very high demand, competitive salary, as well as high job satisfaction. I am planning to take more courses from practical programming and recommended the data science course I took to all my friends who are interested in data science and coding.”

Anastassiya S.

Mar 8, 2018

“Overall great experience in taking Python Immersive course! Content was well organized and had appropriate progression from easy to more complex examples.”

T.

Feb 21, 2018

“A great class - well-taught, organized and fun! Art explains the concepts clearly and efficiently, building thoughtfully concept by concept. Art is also very accessible via Slack outside of classroom hours which greatly helps when you hit sticking points in the homework. I'm learning a ton. Highly recommend!”

Anonymous

Feb 19, 2018

“I had a great experience in my Python Immersive course. The instructor, Matt, was very knowledgeable and patient with questions. He taught all the sections effectively an I really feel like I learned a lot. This course is a good fit for people with no coding knowledge at all. I highly recommend the course for anyone who wants to start learning Python.”

Leo R.

Feb 19, 2018

“I started off the year with a great decision by taking Python for Data Science. Art (our instructor) is well versed in Python and Data Science. My background is in PHP and I've recently been (self) learning Python, with an interest to go into data science and machine learning (curious on learning both to see which I'd want to go deeper on in my career), so I started with Data Science. Art first taught us some essential concepts and practice in Python, including best practices, and then dove into NumPy / Pandas / Mataplotlib in the later weeks. I am very happy with the structure because I too needed to fill in gaps in my Python learning and then apply this practice to data science/analysis. After just completing the 6 sessions, with weekly practice exercises given to us by Art, I feel well equipped to now go deeper and I am more interested than ever in Python for Data Science! More practice and learning is definitely needed to really get the hang of these concepts, just like learning a new language, and Art is kind enough to extend his support to each of us for any questions we may have in the future. Lastly, I could have learnt this online I'm sure, but personally I value the weekly accountability of getting things done (such as the weekly practice exercises, in this case by every Saturday). Thank you Art and team!”

David L.

Feb 12, 2018

“Art is a great instructor. He provided useful python materials for DS. It is a great class for beginners who are trying to break into DS industry.”

Keith

Feb 11, 2018

“Art is a very good instructor, showed to be knowledgeable, helpful.”

Hector L.

Jan 28, 2018

“This was an amazing class. The instructor(Art) is very knowledgeable, and I felt comfortable and welcome. (Which is a big deal for me) I would and will take any classes he teaches. Thank you programwithme. It was a very enjoyable and pleasant experience.”

Eugene D.

Jan 15, 2018

“Art presented the info in a very clear and straightforward manner. He was patient and provided several examples. He also encouraged us to take guesses and attempt to give answers... instead of just expecting us to passively watch him solve everything.”

Angela G.

Jan 14, 2018

“Very straightforward. Teacher was very professional and kind with any questions the students had.”

Anonymous

Jan 13, 2018

“Awesome experience. It was the right balance of exposure, depth, and time consumed. Would definitely recommend! Thanks Matt and Art.”

Brian

Dec 23, 2017

“This is a great class if you consider yourself a beginner in python and work with large sets of data. The class is organized in such a manner where the fundamentals of python (data types, data structures, built-in functions) are taught and emphasized. Because of this focus to build everyone a robust foundational understanding of python, it is easy to learn the data science related python packages. The instructor, Art, was extremely patient and enthusiastic throughout all 6 sessions (from helping all of us get python/anaconda installed properly on our laptops to answering questions on slack). The best part of this class was the practical exercises done during class and assigned for homework. They brought in real data sets and assigned real-world analytical problems. The data sets varied from restaurants, hospitals, to finance - providing exposure to various professional industries. The instructor also provided many examples in my own profession, finance - which I’m currently applying at work.”

Anonymous

Dec 4, 2017

“I am a PhD Candidate in Finance and I attended the 'Python for Data Science' course between September and November 2017. I found the course extremely useful to learn a new language and enhance my coding skills at a faster pace. The instructor, Art, provided clear explanations and he was always very helpful in answering the questions, either in class or via email. The course materials were very well organized with lecture notes, codes and solutions. I would strongly recommend this course to either students or professionals that are looking to learn Python at an intensive pace. The course was also a great way to make new friends.”

Daniela A.

Dec 1, 2017

“This course is extremely helpful and informative. Whether you are new to programming, or an experienced financial analyst, you can certainly benefit from the course. Teacher is very helpful and accessible at all times. I would highly recommend Practical Programming for any courses and would certainly take it again!”

Yuliya

Nov 18, 2017

“I’ve been studying Python by myself for some time but than decided to take this course. I have no regrets. Before I took this course I didn’t have a whole picture about it. Now I know what I need to study. My recommendation is to learn a little bit about programming in Python before coming here, I sometimes felt helpless because the course is very intense. For those people who can program in at least one language this course will be too easy. And about getting job right away after finishing the course it is not really true:)) This course will deepen your understanding about the programming and will give you a big push for farther studying that everyone of you have to do by yourself.”

Inna T.

Nov 6, 2017

“This class gave me the exact information I hoped for. The prof, Art, was very good, helpful, and well-spoken; making it very easy to follow his class.”

Ewan G.

Nov 6, 2017

“The class was good, I had so much fun. The instructor was extremely helpful, helping each student.”

Shannon S.

Nov 2, 2017

“The instructor did a good job of being attentive to the needs of the class and didn't move at too fast a pace. He knew the material well and was able to break down some of the more difficult concepts.”

Anonymous

Oct 28, 2017

“Alex was absolutely amazing. He did a great job explaining the concepts and having us do exercises along the way to get our "hands dirty". Would highly recommend this class to anyone who wants to get familiar with SQL and databases.”

Anonymous

Oct 25, 2017

“Very professional, straight to the point!”

Marik

Oct 23, 2017

“I very much enjoyed the Python Immersive class and learned a great deal. I now feel confident to write scripts in Python. Matt is great in walking through the code that few instructors have patience to do. He has been impartial and gave everyone an opportunity to answer the questions instead of one person monopolizing the class.”

L K

Oct 21, 2017

“I have attended Python 101 and Web Scraping, really liked the material. Good classes.”

Ravi

Oct 16, 2017

“Great learning experience for Python beginners. Recommend having minimal base knowledge of coding before signing up for class, but you learn a tremendous amount of material and gain a lot of experience in a short amount of time!”

Chase Bonsall

Sep 24, 2017

“I really liked the teachers, they are very nice and patient with their students. It was difficult but you do get out what you put in, so do be prepare to work! Great price and and great experience. I would definitely recommend.”

Linda

Sep 22, 2017

“I had no experiencing at programming at all. The first day in the class I thought I would not be coming tomorrow as the course is intense and I would not keep up with the amount of work. However, I didn't give up and pushed myself to continue. Thanks to different instructors who were always willing to help and explain further. The class size is normally 5-6 students, which allows everybody to participate. The course covers all the fundamental programming concepts. It's not taught by one instructor- four instructors are willing to share the knowledge and explain the best way possible. I would highly recommend the course if you are ready to put effort and study hard during two weeks. It's not a magic course which makes you an experienced programmer but it gives you the fundamentals which you can use in the career path of your choice.”

Marina C.

Sep 18, 2017

“Amazing class, I learned more than in three years of (trying) to read Python from books, or from doing online exercises. The best part is that the teacher will go through the theory first and then he/she will give hands-on exercises for the rest of the day, not to forget the homework! It is really best for the buck course, two weeks extreme hammering of Python programming, and coaches are there to teach you, guide you and to assist you. Five stars to all teachers, the best course I should have taken years ago. I will also continue my path with Python programming by taking the data analytics course next from the same organization as the two week Python course was so good. Model-View-Controller? Yes, we touched that topic as well! Regs, Sami”

Sami M.

Sep 2, 2017

“Fast paced and to the point. Good hands on intro into Pandas library”

Anonymous

Aug 21, 2017

“This is a great start for anyone who wants to be familiar with a new programming language and wants to become good at doing it. Be prepared for two weeks of intense coding, it is worth the effort.”

Pedro

Aug 21, 2017

“I enjoyed the class very much, and I learned a lot. Took me from Python basics into all sorts of interesting problems and programming challenges. Instructors are extremely knowledgeable and answered all of my questions. Excellent practice exercises. Great for people who want to learn Python but don't know where to start. Well worth the money. I highly recommend it.”

Andrew M.

Aug 18, 2017

“Thalo and Art were great instructors for the Python for Data Science course - they answered all my questions and gave me a ton of information I can use in the workplace.”

Nicholas Goodman

Aug 17, 2017

“Great intro to ML, Thank you Guys!”

S.P

Aug 16, 2017

“Definitively signing up for the next one.”

Gleicy H.

Aug 14, 2017

“This is a highly intensive python programming course. If you are planning to enroll make sure you can commit to it fully and work hard. Helpful instructor and teacher assistants. I would recommend to anyone interested in registering to have a basic knowledge in programming or at least to be familiar with the Windows Shell and/or the Mac Terminal. Also, I think that a brief intro to pythonic built-in types and basic math and logic concepts before directly jumping into programming will help a lot.”

Miguel G.

Aug 5, 2017

“Helpful class for basics. Instructor knew the material and explained it clearly”

Anonymous

Aug 3, 2017

“Very easy to follow, focusing on practical application of SQL.”

Eun S.

Aug 3, 2017

“Instructor (Alex) was great, he was well prepared for both sessions. He covered all the fundamental concepts, provided good samples to exercise, followed up after the class, took his time to address all the questions during the class.”

Omur A.

Aug 2, 2017

“In the limited amount of time we had, our trainer Alex did an amazing job covering all the bases of basic SQL. He was very good at pointing out red herrings, common mistakes, use cases and examples. I would recommend this class to anyone who wants to understand what SQL is and how it is used. Amazing value for the price.”

Anonymous

Aug 2, 2017

“I had a nice experience in this class. The Instructors and TA's try really hard to help students understand the concepts. If you take the course seriously, you should be able to leave the course with a strong basic understanding of Python. Happy Programming!”

Jose C.

Aug 1, 2017

“I thoroughly enjoyed programming Python by taking "Python immersive" course. I was completely new to programming and I had hesitation before taking this course. Later, when I took this course, on the first day of class, I gained lot of confidence after the lecture of Art. Later, I gained lot of knowledge day by day in python and the best part of this course is homework and project (each week, totally 2). The classes are taken by Art and Sean. Both of them have lot of experience in python. I would like to appreciate Wesley and Sasha (TA's of this course) for their input and guidance every day. It would've been difficult without their help. I really enjoyed the two weeks pf this course. I would like to enroll for the classes taken by Art and Sean. Finally, the course is conducted in Manhattan (near Empire State Building)!!! I enjoyed traveling to Manhattan daily!! :) Thank you Art, Sean, Wesley and Sasha.”

Sashaank

Jul 28, 2017

“The course was very interesting. We reviewed Python from the basics to the more advanced subjects. Art and the TA's checked everyone's laptop to see if people were on track. The exercises were very helpful and helped everyone learn about the lecture material. I recommend the course to anyone who wants to learn Python. The course will definitely broaden your knowledge of programming and data science.”

Manish A.

Jul 28, 2017

“I signed up for this class during my summer break from college. What I was hoping for was to improve my python programming skills. What I didn't expect to get was an eye-opening experience to the vast use of python in every aspect of coding - from solving simple problems , to creating API classes. And then applying that knowledge to file input data analysis, web scraping and Pandas, NumPy and Matplotlib for analyzing and visual representation of financial data publicly available on the internet. You'll also learn how to collaborate professionally with GitHub and Slack and you'll create your own portfolio of projects to show to prospect employers. The format of the course is very hands-on. You'd go in the morning, finish up and discuss your homework with the mentors and then you'll have a lecture and practice exercises to better understand the material. The lecturers are very knowledgeable and there's no "lazy teaching" like some other places where they'd just give you exercise and expect you to already know the stuff and come up with solutions. NO. They'd explain everything in detail, make sure everybody understands before moving on. Very helpful and attentive teachers. They would often sit down with students individually and help them or give more info if they see everybody's struggling. It was a great learning experience and unmatched quality for the money! Highly recommend!”

Alex

Jul 27, 2017

“Alex was an enthusiastic and knowledgeable instructor. He made time to go through examples thoroughly and connect with students in the class. I learned a lot and would definitely recommend his course.”

Anonymous

Jul 24, 2017

“Efficiently structured intro to Python. Quick and to the point. Solid instructor.”

Anonymous

Jul 14, 2017

“Great intro...great teacher.”

Anonymous

Jul 13, 2017

“I highly recommend this workshop”

Marina N.

Jul 13, 2017

“I found the class to be very Informative”

Ajit

Jul 10, 2017

“Instructor was well prepared, professional and helped me with my errors. I look forward to booking my second course Python 102.”

Erin

Jul 1, 2017

“I really liked all the classes I attended (1) python course (2) web scraping (3)python for data science (4) build web application. You can’t beat the price, it gives you strong foundation before you venture out, I highly recommend it.”

Murli

Jun 8, 2017

“This course is great for anyone just beginning to code, the instructor was great and gave lots of personal attention to each student. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who has an interest in programming.”

Riana E.

Jun 8, 2017

“I learned more in two sessions than I did in two weeks' worth of reading and watching videos, and was able to apply it fairly quickly. I'd recommend this class to anyone looking to just get their feet wet in the data sciences.”

Anonymous

May 24, 2017

“Excellent class!”

Tania V.

May 24, 2017

“Great class! Covers very cool python libraries. Material is well structured and explained. Highly recommend it.”

Ana

May 20, 2017

“Very helpful and interesting class, very well organized. Great teacher with very clear instructing skills.”

Ana

May 20, 2017

“Small class more personal level of attention when encountering errors.”

Felipe J. R.

May 20, 2017

“Art from programming with us answered all questions. Covered the most common operations for analyzing and visualizing the fluctuations of the stock market.”

Shoshana B.

May 8, 2017

“I am new to programming. I am giving five stars because the instructor explained every step in an easy-to-follow, digestible way.”

Eric Q.

May 2, 2017

“It was all put together. Very informative.”

Omar J.

Mar 24, 2017

“I really enjoyed learning with Art as a beginner in python. As an instructor, Art is very knowledgeable and well-organized to the learning structures for his students. He also remains approachable after class hours for additional questions or concerns. Programming is never easy and having someone like Art for his willingness and interests to go extra miles to help students meet those learning goals is much appreciated. If you are really interested in learning python, I recommend this class!”

Anonymous

Mar 9, 2017

“I’m a physician learning Computer Sciences at Columbia University. As most of us know the field is vast and its quite impossible to learn all that is needed, required, or wanted in a stipulated time period. So I seek help of private Tutors and I try various courses, online as well as in-class in New York City. I was not expecting much from the practical programming class in flatiron, the price was good which encouraged me to risk my time. The class was diverse and the teacher was talented, he was able to evoke interest in the subject and patiently answered every stupid question that I had. If you wish to learn Python, I'm sure the Practical Programming class will be very helpful. Don't be shy to contact me if you need tips from a struggling learner!”

Leo S.

Mar 9, 2017